Do you want to advertise ?

create ad

CPI Spanish Immersion School

Learn Spanish in Costa Rica

Art Depot

Your Art Supply Store

Costa Rica Animal Rescue Center

Dedicated to the rescue and rehabilitation of Costa Rican wildlife

P Law Group

Legal Services in Costa Rica - We Think Like you Do

Visa Requirement List for Costa Rica Effective November 2009




The Department of Imigration has updated and revised the VISA ENTRY requirement list.


Costa Rica divides countries for visa purposes into 4 groups as follows:

GROUP ONE.   Those countries designated as Group One may enter Costa Rica without an entry Visa and may remain in Costa Rica for up to 90 days. 

Example: United States Canada, European Union, Australia, Brasil,

GROUP TWO:  Citizens of Group Two countries may enter Costa Rica without an entry Visa and may remain in Costa Rica for up to 30 days.

Example: Belize, Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, Venezuela

GROUP THREE:  If you are a citizen of a Group Three country you need to obtain an entry VISA from a Costa Rican Embassy or Consulate abroad before you enter Costa Rica.  If granted it is for a period of 30 days.

Example: Colombia, Ecuador, India, Nicaragua, Peru

GROUP FOUR:  This is the morst restrictive category.  This means that citizens of Category Three Countries must have an entry visa BEFORE they are allowed to enter Costa Rica.  The visa must be reviewed by the Director of Immigration before it can be granted.   If granted the visa is for a period of 30 days.

Example:  Cuba, Jamaica, China, Iran, Iraq.

You can see the full list of the Visa programs by clicking here:  VISA LIST 



Leave a Reply