Property Tax Forms in Costa Rica

by rpetersen

Property Tax Forms in Costa Rica

The Property Tax Law (art. 23) establishes the tax rate at 0.0025% of the recorded value of the property. I will discuss how the value is established in the next section.  Most Municipal governments will collect the property tax on a trimester basis as follows:

I Trimester:       January – March

II Trimester:      April – June

III Trimester:    July – September

IV Trimester:    October – December

Most of the forms used in 86 local governments are similar to the example included below.  I am also setting forth below the links to the property tax section of several local governments where  you will find links to download the Municipal Property Tax Declaration Form (Declaración Sobre Impuestos de Bienes Inmuebles).  If your Municipal government form is not listed below you can view the Municipal Government Contact Directory and contact them directly to request the form.

Province of San Jose

Municipality of San José

Municipality of Santa Ana

Municipality of Escazú

Province of Alajuela

Municipality of Atenas

Municipality of Grecia

Municipality of Naranjo

Province of Heredia

Municipality of Heredia

Municipality of San Rafael

Province of Cartago

Municipality of Cartago

Province of Puntarenas

Municipality of Osa

Province of Guanacaste

Municipality of Santa Cruz

Province of Limon

Municipality of Talamanca


Related Articles